Our Staff

The Matthew H. Ornstein Washington Summer Debate Institute is dedicated to bringing together an All-Star staff for our students. Unlike most debate camps, we hold a competitive, national talent search to identify the best and brightest. We look for staff members with substantial debate expertise AND extensive experience as a teacher and/or coach to pass along their experience.

**We are now accepting applications for the staff of the 6th annual Ornstein Summer Debate Institute. Please see the application below: 

Staff of the 5th Annual Ornstein Summer Debate Institute (2019)

Staff Of Previous Summer Institutes


Jon Alfuth: x3

Education Policy Analyst, National Governor's Association, WUDL Advisory Board Member

Hannah Allison:

Student, Liberty University

Kalyani Allums:

Student, Emory University, Volunteer, Atlanta Urban Debate League 

Taylor Allums: 

Legal Assistant, Brock and Scott PLLC

Mary Beth Armstrong:

Student, George Mason University

Natalie Bennie: 

Graduate Student, Wake Forest University

*Olivia Berry

Student, Tulane University

*Darcell Brown: 

Debate Coach, Detroit Urban Debate League

Darian Carroll: x2

PHD Candidate, University of Maryland, Ass. Debate Coach, Flowers High School (MD) 

*Dara Davis: x2

Debate Coach, Ogden International School (Chicago), WUDL Program Coordinator

Richard Day: x3

Consultant, C.E.B, WUDL Board Member, Graduate Student, University of Chicago

Frantz Deetjen: x2

Director of Debate, Bowie High School (MD)

*Alex Dresdner: x2

Student, Emory University

*Cydney Edwards: x2

Program Director, Miami-Dade Urban Debate League

Reka Fink: x3

Debate Coach, The Blake School (MN)

Cesar Fortuna:

Director of Debate, Greenbelt Middle School (MD)

Colton Gilbert:

Debate Coach, Little Rock Central High School (AR)

Jonathan Gonzalez:  x2

Attorney, Mcandlish Horton, WUDL Advisory Board Member

Alexandra Green: 

Student, Liberty University

Joe Karam: x2

Attorney, Alexandria (VA) District Attorney, WUDL Advisory Board Member

Khalil Lee: 

Graduate Student, Wake Forest University

Selah Lee-Bey: x4

Director of Debate, Reading Specialist, and Special Educator, Washington Latin Public Charter School

David Leo:

Student, George Washington University, Ass. Debate Coach, Eastern High School (DC)

Randall Martinez:

Director of Debate, Christopher Columbus High School (FL)

Hunter McCullough: 

Debate Coach, Highland Park High School (TX)

Nate Nys: 

Student, Wake Forest University

*Jazmine Pickens: 

Student, University of Oklahoma

Jackie Poapst:

Assistant Director of Debate, George Mason University

Stefanie Pousoulides: 

Student, Duke University

Dr. Omar Price: x2

Director of Debate, DuVal High School (MD), Professor, Alabama A & M University

*Linda Ramseur: x2

Student, Simpson College

Brian Roche: 

Student, University of Michigan

Maggie Ryan:

Student, University of Maryland, Ass. Debate Coach, Northwestern High School

*Hope Sauceda: 

Graduate Student, University of Las Vegas 

*Renae Salunga: 

Student, Georgetown University, 2016-17 Urban Debater of the Year

Kate Scolaro: 

Student, University of Florida 

Nick Sciullo: 

Director of Debate, University of Central Florida

*Keoni Scott-Reid: x2

Director of Debate, Washington Leadership Academy (D.C.)

*Aubrey Semple:

Program Director, New York Urban Debate League

*Hiba Sheikh:

Law Student, Northwestern University

Rachel Stevens: x2

Founder/Director, Debate HELP

*Aisha Taylor:

Student, Jacksonville University 
Michelle Thomas: x2

Assistant Director of Debate, Binghampton University
Hayden Uihlein: 

Director of Debate, Edina High School (Minnesota)
Tommye Weddington: 

PHD Candidate, University of Pittsburgh
*Kevin Whitley: x2

Director of Debate, Towson University

Patrick Wilborn:

Director of Debate, DuVal High School (MD)
Adilah Wutoh-Baylor: 

Director of Debate, Dora Kennedy French Immersion School, (MD)
*Wayne Young: x3

M.A. Candidate, University of Maryland

* = Urban Debate Alumni

Italics = Urban Debate Volunteer or Coach

2017 Staff:

From Left: Rachel Stevens, Reka Fink, Selah Lee-Bey, David Trigaux, Kevin Whitley, Jon Alfuth, Khalil Lee, Jazmine Pickens, Jonathan Gonzalez, Nick Sciullo, Natalie Bennie, Wayne Young, Taylor Allums, Kate Scolaro, Tommye Weddington, Hunter McCullough, Nate Nys

Not Pictured: Richard Day

© 2023 by Jade&Andy. Proudly created with Wix.com